Sites that have great content for use with an interactive whiteboard:


All Ages:

Art Rage (download) http://artrage.com/
The Artist's Toolkit http://www.artsconnected.org/toolkit/index.html
Arts Alive Music Activities http://www.artsalive.ca/en/mus/activitiesgames/
BrainPop http://www.brainpop.com/
Childrens Museum of Indianapolis http://www.childrensmuseum.org/
Create a Graph http://nces.ed.gov/nceskids/createagraph/default.aspx
Daily Dose of the Web http://www.internet4classrooms.com/daily_dose.htm
Diagram.ly http://www.diagram.ly/
Earth Cam http://www.earthcam.com/
ElectroCity http://www.electrocity.co.nz/
Free Rice http://www.freerice.com/
GameQuarium http://gamequarium.com/
Global Tribe http://www.pbs.org/kcet/globaltribe/countries/smokey_slideshow2.html
Google Earth http://earth.google.com/
Grapher http://www.amblesideprimary.com/ambleweb/mentalmaths/grapher.html
Grow a Tree http://pbskids.org/wayback/family/tree/index.html
How Stuff Works (quizzes and activities) http://www.howstuffworks.com/
Intel Templates http://www.intel.com/education/tools/index.htm
Interactivate Math Activities http://www.shodor.org/interactivate/activities/
Kids Jungle http://www.nga.gov/kids/zone/jungle.htm
Magnetic Poetry and Mad Libs http://www.eduscapes.com/tap/topic114.htm
A Math Dictionary for Kids http://www.amathsdictionaryforkids.com/
Music Theory http://www.musictheory.net/
My Pyramid (nutrition) http://www.mypyramid.gov/kids/kids_game.html
National Geographic Map Games http://www.mywonderfulworld.org/toolsforadventure/games/index.html
National Library of Virtual Manipulatives http://nlvm.usu.edu/en/nav/topic_t_2.html
PBS WayBack Activities http://pbskids.org/wayback/future/index.html
Simulations (ex: frog dissection) http://www.techtrekers.com/sim.htm
Spelling City http://www.spellingcity.com/
StateTris http://www.mapmsg.com/games/statetris/usa/
Textivate http://www.textivate.com/
Tutorial for Creating a Game Board http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=T1Fql3R6iMQ
Virtual Field Trips http://www.techtrekers.com/virtualft.htm
Vocabulary game templates http://www.barryfunenglish.com/games.php
We Give Books http://www.wegivebooks.org/books
Word Play http://www.inventionatplay.org/playhouse_wordplay.html

Younger Students:

Analog Clock http://www.amblesideprimary.com/ambleweb/mentalmaths/clock.html
BookPop http://www.bookpop.com/index2.html
Cloud Dreamer http://www.inventionatplay.org/playhouse_cloud.html
Colonial House Dress Me Up http://www.pbs.org/wnet/colonialhouse/history/dress_up_flash.html
Design a Panda Habitat http://nationalzoo.si.edu/Education/ConservationCentral/design/default.cfm
EdPax (activities to download) http://www.edpax.com/
English Games http://www.marks-english-school.com/games.html
GeoSpy Geography Game http://kids.nationalgeographic.com/Games/GeographyGames/Geospy
Interactive Clock http://www.teacherled.com/resources/clockspin/clockspinload.html
Kelp Forest http://www.nationalgeographic.com/monterey/ax/primary_fs.html?../kelp_gearup.html
Learning Clip Primary Math Activities http://www.learningclip.co.uk/index1.aspx
Learning Planet activities http://www.learningplanet.com/
Learning Planet Games http://www.learningplanet.com/stu/kids0.asp
Make a Tide Pool http://www.montereybayaquarium.org/lc/kids_place/tidepool/tidepool.asp
Panda Challenge http://nationalzoo.si.edu/Education/ConservationCentral/challenge/default.cfm
PBS Kids Games http://pbskids.org/whiteboard/
Rainforest at Night http://www.nationalgeographic.com/features/00/earthpulse/rainforest/index_flash-feature.html
Read, Write, Think activities http://readwritethink.org/student_mat/index.asp
Scholastic Interactive Resources http://www2.scholastic.com/browse/learn.jsp
Simple Machines http://edheads.org/activities/simple-machines/
Starfall http://www.starfall.com/
That Quiz http://www.thatquiz.org/
Thumb Piano (Africa) http://pbskids.org/africa/piano/haveflash.html
Times Educational Supplement iBoard Activities http://www.iboard.co.uk/
United States Map interactive http://www.pibmug.com/files/map_test.swf
A Walk in the Forest http://nationalzoo.si.edu/Education/ConservationCentral/walk/default.cfm
Walk in the Woods http://urbanext.illinois.edu/woods/02.html

Older Students:

Asian Games http://www.asia.si.edu/exhibitions/online/asiangames/default.htm#
BBC Algebra http://www.bbc.co.uk/schools/gcsebitesize/maths/algebra/
Cabri 3D Gallery (geometry and physics) http://gallery.cabri.com/en/
Design a Parachute http://www.pbs.org/wgbh/nova/mars/parachute.html
The Drake Equation http://www.pbs.org/wgbh/nova/origins/drake.html
Drive of Your Life (careers) https://www.driveofyourlife.org/launch.html
EdHeads Engineering Activities http://www.edheads.org/
Forces Lab http://www.pbs.org/wgbh/buildingbig/lab/forces.html
Free Poverty http://www.freepoverty.com/
GeoTerra (eco-imagination) http://geoterra.ecomagination.com/indexFlash.html#Island
Heritage Explorer (images and activities) http://www.heritageexplorer.org.uk/web/he/default.aspx
How to Read Scales http://readwritethink.org/student_mat/index.asp
Hunt for the SuperTwister http://www.pbs.org/wgbh/nova/tornado/damage.html
Iraq Navigator: Mapping the Conflict http://news.bbc.co.uk/nol/shared/spl/hi/middle_east/02/iraq_navigator/html/default.stm
The Jamestown Chronicles http://www.historyisfun.org/chronicles/main.html
Let's Make a Microbe http://www.pbs.org/wgbh/nova/sciencenow/3214/01-make-flash.html
Making Vaccines http://www.pbs.org/wgbh/nova/meningitis/vaccines.html
Manga Shakespeare http://www.mangashakespeare.com/free_resources.html
Materials Lab http://www.pbs.org/wgbh/buildingbig/lab/materials.html
Molly on Board (communication skills and teamwork) http://www.btbetterworld.com/pg/developing_skills/free_resources/Molly_On_Board/home.ikml
Nathaniel Hawthorne http://www.pem.org/sites/hawthorne/flash.html
Nobel Prize Educational Games http://nobelprize.org/educational_games
OxFam Education Resources http://www.oxfam.org.uk/education/resources/
Pi: Infinite Secrets http://www.pbs.org/wgbh/nova/archimedes/pi.html
QuizGeo http://www.quizgeo.com/
Saving the National Treasures http://www.pbs.org/wgbh/nova/charters/damage.html
Sim Sweatshop http://www.simsweatshop.com/game/
Two Steps Forward, One Step Back (Women in Kenya) http://www.pbs.org/frontlineworld/stories/kenya/steps1.html
Who's Who in Darfur: The Geopolitics of Tragedy http://www.pbs.org/frontlineworld/stories/sudan/relationshipsa.html

Where are you as an interactive whiteboard user?


Beginning User
Adaptive User
Advanced User
Basic
Teaching and manipulating
Teaching, manipulating, and student interaction in a very visually effective way
Display - overhead projector
Use dry-erase markers for annotating what's on the screen
Teacher is the primary user
Unsure, not confident with basic tools in Notebook software
Uses for seatwork/bellwork/housekeeping then turns off for rest of class
Used primarily for showing videos
Uses stylus markers for notes and examples in Notebook
Notebook Galleries are used on a regular basis
Notebook is used on an hourly basis
Most Notebook features used
Visual presentation limited to notes, study guides, worksheets or other scanned materials
Numerous Notebook features are used with ease, including advanced features (such as recording, spotlighting, highlighting, etc.)
Students interact with manipulatives, maps or other portions of interactive lessons
Students annotate in Notebook, on the Internet
Interactive lessons are developed and used on a regular basis
Notebook, Internet, emulators and other projected programs used on an hourly basis
Interactive whiteboard and projector are used in effective visual presentations (images, maps, Internet, video integration, SMART Ideas, interactive Powerpoints, saved annotations in productivity software)
Has experimented with improving skills through training sessions, downloading templates and lessons
Knows basic
troubleshooting
Another rubric for teacher use of interactive whiteboard: http://www.amphi.com/~psteffen/smartrubric.html

Hardware Specific Resources (SMARTboard, Promethean, Mimeo, etc.)


SMART's Lesson Exchange http://exchange.smarttech.com/files/

SMART Lesson Activity Toolkit Tips & Tricks http://www.education.smarttech.com/ste/en-US/Ed+Resource/Lesson+resources/toolkit/tipsandtricks.htm
Quick Reference Guide:

Tons of Templates (about 650) for SMART board http://education.smarttech.com/ste/en-US/Ed+Resource/Lesson+Activities/Notebook+Activities/Browse+Notebook/United+States/

Promethean Planet http://www.prometheanplanet.com/server.php?show=nav.1128

Notebook Software Basics 2 Minute Overview http://downloads01.smarttech.com/media/trainingcenter/flash/notebook%20software%20basics.htm
Tips for Teaching with Interactive Whiteboards
10 Ways to Use Your Interactive Whiteboard More Effectively http://elearnr.edublogs.org/2008/09/08/10-ways-to-use-your-interactive-whiteboard-more-effectively/
Tara's Tuesday Tips http://crewesmart.wikispaces.com/
Get Smart with SMARTboards http://smartboards.typepad.com/getsmart/
Teaching with SMARTboard http://teachingwithsmartboard.com/
The Whiteboard Blog http://www.whiteboardblog.co.uk/
Interactive Whiteboard 101
http://www.whiteboardblog.co.uk/2012/09/interactive-whiteboard-101-a-short-primer/